BeeKay's Blog

crafts, food, makeup, clothes, shoes, books, cats, life

So Much For THAT!

on July 10, 2017

Well, the pin and the bear are still unfinished—the pin because I could not find the proper glue, the bear because time was pretty tight, what with all the running around I had to do over the weekend—and this state of affairs has gotten WAY old. So my vow to you is this: these gifts will be out the door no later than the weekend.

Not too long ago, I promised the spousal unit that I would not buy any more sewing patterns/fabric/craft supplies until the shower curtain and Roman shade for the master bathroom were completed. My intentions were good.

As always, we know that good intentions pave the way to the underworld.

Also not too long ago, I completed a pair of shorts and got 3/4 of the way to completing a tunic (Simplicity 3799) only to find that XXS does not mean a woman’s size 2; it really means “will fit a two-year-old female.” I was bummed because I really needed a pair of black shorts that fit properly; also because I really really liked the black/white/red paisley fabric I chose for the tunic. No matter, as the material for each can easily be repurposed (but damnit! I really was looking forward to rockin’ that outfit!). At least I didn’t butcher the blue crepe with the embroidered anchors over this, I’d have really steamed my clams. And the paisley fabric is always available, so no worries there.

On my latest trip to JoAnn Fabrics, lo and behold, all Simplicity patterns were $1.99, so I bought a replacement pattern 3799. That doesn’t count, right? Technically it isn’t a new pattern, right?

Then yesterday, while the SU and I were shopping at Walmart, I stopped by the fabric aisle (it isn’t the department it used to be ages ago but that’s neither here nor there), I found a fat quarter with a Mickey Mouse print. SU’s cousin loves Disney; SU’s cousin is very particular in his tastes; SU’s cousin has absolutely no qualms w h a t s o e v e r about letting you know what’s on his mind.

Looks like SU’s cousin will be getting a prototype bowl too! I think this match of fabrics is going to look very sharp with a black band (Mickey outside, polka dot lining).

DSC07488

I am slowly but surely trying to reorganize/tidy up our fourth bedroom so it can serve as my craft room/another spare bedroom. I found this article late last night. Mind. Blown. Some of these are definitely worth trying, of course not all at once, but I’m down with a lot of them! I’ll keep you posted.

 

Leave a Reply

