BeeKay's Blog

crafts, food, makeup, clothes, shoes, books, cats, life

Whiskey Tango Hotel

on June 23, 2017

So I’m taking a day or so to get caught up on projects that were left by the wayside due to a sliced finger and then a lovely summer cold, complete with allergies (blech!!). Now I’m back at it … but I would have preferred to get back at it around 9:00 a.m., not at 6:00 a.m.

To update: Simplicity 3799 is cut VERY small. I typically wear anywhere between a size 2 and a size 6, so opted to go with the XXS tunic and shorts. The XXS is allegedly a size 4.

That was a mistake.

I can’t pull the tunic down over my shoulders and I can’t pull the shorts up over my hips.

(Apparently my hips DO lie.)

I’m glad I didn’t cut the blue crepe with the embroidered anchors otherwise I’d be superp!ssed. I just need to get a new pattern, and go with size small next time. So someone’s little girl will be the lucky beneficiary of custom-made duds. Black, red, and white paisley tunic, and black shorts. Hit me up if you’re interested; some minor hemming needs to be done but for the most part they’re good to go.

The bear is almost done; the arms, legs, and back seams need to be slip-stitched shut, and I have to finish that wretched vest.

I also made a small bowl (Simplicity 1126), a plaid skirt (Simplicity 2184), and plan to make a pair of shorts (in the correct size, mind you—McCall’s 6930). Finally, I bought a new mat and frame for “When I Am an Old Cat” and hope to re-hang it later today.

Leave a Reply

