BeeKay's Blog

crafts, food, makeup, clothes, shoes, books, cats, life

Crazy Random Things

on June 10, 2017

On Tuesday, I had intended to sleep in a bit, as I had nothing of importance to do till two in the afternoon; but we all know the final destination of the road which good intentions pave, right?

So I brewed a strong cup of hazelnut coffee, texted Baby Bro, checked FB and email, and cleaned off the kitchen island (a weekly chore for me). Had to laugh when I found these:

DSC07435

There are more out there … I can feel it

You see, in a past life as a client service manager, these were indispensable necessities – they carried backed- up files for on-site meetings, and files that were revised on site to save to our company server upon return to the office. Invariably, I would misplace one nearly every time I traveled for work. Luckily, I would back files up to a spare thumb drive, my laptop, desktop, and a CD or two “just to be safe”; I avoided catastrophes, but the constant loss of thumb drives became a running joke whenever I had to ask our office manager for a replacement.

Which was (pretty much) every time I returned from a business trip, sometimes even before departing on one.

Most of these are promotional giveaways, two or three are personal use, but there are quite a few I unearthed while cleaning out old business travel bags. Doubtless I will find more as I keep cleaning out my house.

You have socks go missing. I have thumb drives go astray. Perhaps they are together in some parallel universe having a laugh at our expense.

And maybe someday, I will meet up with my former supervisor and humbly return all the unintentionally pilfered office supplies.

There is a story (perhaps apocryphal) that Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis had a drawer full of her signature, ever-present, Hugh Jass sunglasses at home and/or her office. That may be me someday, although instead of sunglasses I’ll have about a thousand thumb drives (probably sunglasses too).

We shall see, I guess. If you have thumb drives that are free to a good home, I’m your girl.

Leave a Reply

