BeeKay's Blog

crafts, food, makeup, clothes, shoes, books, cats, life

Casualties of Cuisine

on June 10, 2017

The intention was to make ho-made homemade lasagna. As usual, another mile on the Highway to Hades got paved with my good intentions.

It is not the normal-formal everyday mozzarella-ricotta-lots of red sauce lasagna; I call it my sexy MF lasagna. Yes, you read that right. It is an amazing recipe.

Full disclosure: OK, it’s really a recipe I borrowed from Martha Stewart. I tweaked it as it was a bit too fancy for me—I’m too lazy to make ho-made homemade noodles (not to mention cheap as I don’t have a pasta machine and don’t intend to buy one as I have enough stuff already thankyouverymuch). Plus the spousal-unit doesn’t care for nutmeg.

My recipe (OK, MARTHA’S, I give credit where and when credit is due) calls for chopped celery, onion, carrot, and garlic. All very well and good until one considers that last week I sliced the crap out of my left index finger chopping celery for marinara sauce (OK, Giada’s marinara sauce) for rigatoni and meatballs, which is one of the the spousal-unit’s favorite meals. I waited too long to get stitches or Dermabond; had to settle for sterile strips and bandages. No antibiotics, as the knife was brand new, but I did have to get a tetanus shot.

There was a laugh to be had from this; I was explaining to someone what had happened (brand new santoku knife, chopping up celery, blah blah blah) and a guy friend chimed in “but what she didn’t tell you is, her husband’s name is Celery.”

Understandably I was apprehensive about doing anything that involved knives or cloth (blood stains are the devil to get rid of, you know, but this stuff works). As of this morning, the wound seems to be healing nicely, so I hope to get back on track cooking and creating.

Wish me luck and watch this space!

PS the phrase that pays was “I cut myself with a sudoku knife.” Damn that math game! And how’s that for a malapropism?

 

Leave a Reply

