BeeKay's Blog

crafts, food, makeup, clothes, shoes, books, cats, life

An Exciting Past Few Days

on May 28, 2017

[Edited 6/10/2017]

I have been one of the gainfully unemployed for over two years, and while sometimes not working was fun, on the whole it was soul-crushing boredom. I took up sewing again, got back into designing my own cross stitch patterns (I have yet to execute any of them as of this moment, but hey! it’s only 7:00 a.m. on a Sunday morning! the day is still young, right?), and took up meditation to (try to) get my mind serene.

On Thursday, my local paper had an advertisement announcing a need for obituary writers (part-time). The hours are great (afternoons, with some weekends), the office is conveniently located downtown (park-and-ride! mass transit! this would be awesome!) I lined up my references, drafted a cover letter, and sent in my résumé.

Another downtown employer is seeking a Visitor Experience Supervisor; résumé will be cued up and sent out shortly.

So hopefully within the next few weeks (days? a girl can hope, can’t she?), I will have a new gig lined up.

Last week, I sent a letter to the spousal-unit’s incredibly cool, generous, and talented aunt; she is an artist living in South Dakota and we correspond frequently. In the letter, I included photos of Maggie and Sarge.

In return, she sent me a piece of her work titled Notions and I have to say it will look amazing in my craft room! I can’t wait to hang it. Not sure what I will send her in return but it’s going to have to kick ass. (But now that I think of it, I have an idea … watch this space!)

Leave a Reply

