BeeKay's Blog

crafts, food, makeup, clothes, shoes, books, cats, life

Proust Questionnaire from Vanity Fair

on May 6, 2017

I was drawing a blank pretty much all week, so co-opted the questionnaire that appears at the end of Vanity Fair every month.

What is your idea of perfect happiness? Spending time down the shore with friends; sun, surf, sea air … what more could you ask for?

What is your greatest fear? Being completely and utterly alone, with absolutely no one to reach out to.

Which historical figure do you most identify with? Queen Victoria.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? I can be lazy and tend to overcomplicate things by overthinking.

What is the trait you most deplore in others? Closed-mindedness.

What is your greatest extravagance? Giving gifts – I think I enjoy finding the perfect gift for someone more than I enjoy giving it!

What is your favorite journey? Going down the shore.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue? Chastity!

On what occasion do you lie? To keep myself out of trouble, which more often than not leads to more trouble; or to hurt others’ feelings.

What do you dislike most about your appearance? The bump on the bridge of my nose.

Which living person do you most deplore? Any tyrant.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse? “Actually.”

What is your greatest regret? Causing pain to someone I love.

What or who is the greatest love of your life? Not saying!

When and where were you happiest? Can’t think of specifics, but I am always happiest laughing and being with dear friends.

Which talent would you most like to have? To be able to play the piano and the guitar.

What is your current state of mind? Murderous! I would gladly murder for a cup of coffee; Cuisinart coffee-maker, don’t fail me now!

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? Stupid chin hairs, they are causing me agita. I would also like a bit more patience.

If you could change one thing about your family, what would it be? That we would be more in contact with each other/be able to spend more time together.

What do you consider your greatest achievement? Graduating college, and buying my amazing house, which I adore.

If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be? A cat, living in a feline paradise such as the one my two spoiled cats currently inhabit.

What is your most treasured possession? My wedding band set; my Elsa Peretti Crucifixion necklace; my Serenity Prayer necklace.

What do you regard as the lowest depths of misery? To witness brutality and be unable to do anything about it.

Where would you like to live? Down the Maryland shore.

What is your favorite occupation? Writing. I need to do more of it, hence this blog.

What is your most marked characteristic? Compassion and tolerance, I’d like to think.

What is the quality you most like in a man? A sense of humor.

What is the quality you most like in a woman? A sense of humor.

What do you most value in your friends? Their never-ending love and support … and their joyous laughter.

Who is your favorite hero of fiction? Scarlett O’Hara Hamilton Kennedy Butler.

Who are your heroes in real life? Those (especially women) who speak out against brutality.

What is it that you most dislike? Not seeing friends as much as I’d like.

How would you like to die? On my own terms, and preferably in my sleep.

What is your motto? “It is what it is.”

Leave a Reply

