BeeKay's Blog

crafts, food, makeup, clothes, shoes, books, cats, life

Sew Crazy!

on May 1, 2017

I have been a woman possessed by the spirit of a mad crazy seamstress lately. Even since the spousal-unit bought me a new sewing machine (Singer Brilliance), I’ve been a total heaux fo’ sho’ sewing.

DSC07320

To date, I have made upwards of 250 snappy bags in a plethora of fabrics, a dozen pairs of pajama bottoms (See & Sew B5517 for Mom and Sally, Simplicity 1520 pants for the spousal-unit, Ashley, Rain, and myself in either Philadelphia Flyers or tubby penguin flannel, and sleep shorts),

a floppy beach hat (McCall M6664, one in purple paisley, one in a black, red, and white pattern, both of which will go with my swimsuits);

and three skirts (Simplicity 2184) in the material shown below.

Not to mention, I FINALLY finished my Christmas in Paris apron (See & Sew B5125)

And made a Steelers catnip toy for Sarge’s cousin George.

DSC07358

In the pipeline we have 2 tunics and 2 pairs of shorts (Simplicity 3799; khaki and black shorts, and tunics in this material);

DSC07323

And as I blogged yesterday, a teddy bear, sundress, panties, and hat for OBIL’s stepdaughter’s first baby.

However, let us go back to Simplicity 3799. Two things:

  • What the hell is a size XXS? Is it like a size 00? And
  • Who came up with this pinning/cutting schematic for the tunic? I am sewing tops, not building a damn battleship.
One response to “Sew Crazy!

  1. […] also made a small bowl (Simplicity 1126), a plaid skirt (Simplicity 2184), and plan to make a pair of shorts (in the correct size, mind you—McCall’s 6930). Finally, I […]

Leave a Reply

